[email protected] +91 94808 65623

किरातार्जुनीयम् - प्रथमः सर्गः (तमिळ्-भाषया)

Kiratarjuniyam - Sarga 1 (Tamil Explanation)

Kiratarjuniyam is one of the five mahakavyas or great epics of the classical Samskrita literature. Bharavi, author of this kavya, is famous for the depth of meaning (अर्थ-गौरवम्). In these video lectures, Ms. Visalakshi Sankaran explains first sarga of the kavya in simple Tamil.

No of Enrollment
No of Lectures

Schedule of Classes

About the Course

What will you gain from this course? (Key Benefits / Learning Outcomes)
  • Verse-by-verse understanding of complete first sarga of a Kiratarjuniya
  • Appreciation of advanced poetic and linguistic aspects of Sanskrit literature
  • Focused explanations helpful in exam-preparation
What are the materials/support you get?
  • 12 pre-recorded audios which you can access anytime, from any device.
  • Doubt clarifications through Email.
  • Some additional resources with book links.
What are the prerequisites to get the best out of this course? (Eligibility)
  • Good knowledge of Sanskrit language and grammar, at the level of Chittoor - Samartha / Samskrita Bharati - Kovida.
  • Previous exposure to simpler kavyas will help in understanding and appreciating this kavya better.
  • Ability to understand simple spoken Tamil.
Visual Design Kiratarjuniyam - Sarga 1 (Tamil Explanation)

About the Teacher

Know More about the Course

Kiratarjuniyam is one of the five great poems of Samskrita Literature – the पञ्च-महाकाव्यs. Bharavi, author of this poem, is famous for the depth of meaning (अर्थ-गौरवम्)

The poem has eighteen cantos (sarga-s), and the first sarga is one of the most popular portions of the poem. Here, a spy sent by Yudhishthira returns and reports the excellence of Duryodhana in ruling the kingdom and looking after the subjects. trying to win them over by the time the Pandavas return. After his departure, Draupadi tries to incite Yudhishthira to declare war with the Kauravas, by describing the pathetic state that the Pandavas are currently in, and Yudhishthira’s foolishness in sticking to an agreement with foes who have no moral standards.
The total 1st Sarga of Kiratarjuniyam of Bharavi consisting of 47 shlokas.
There is no certificate offered currently for this course by Vyoma.
1. Scroll above and Click on "Enroll for Free" button.
2. If you have not signed in, you can sign in. If you are a new user, you can get a new account for free in less than 2 minutes.
3. Once you enroll, you can access all materials from your learning dashboard.
4. For any issues / questions, please check our FAQ page / contact our support team here.

Course Content

To access the content please enrol to the course and go to ‘My Account’/ Learning page.